New Haven Unified School District

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Board Briefs for Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Board Briefs for Tuesday, April 18, 2017

At Tuesday's regularly scheduled Board meeting, the District's Teacher Classified Employee and Teacher of the Year were recognized and celebrated.  The peer-driven selection process for these prestigious honors started at each school where members of each employee group nominated and selected their site representatives.  This pool of exceptionally talented individuals was put forward to the corresponding District selection committee (NHTA or CSEA) which had the difficult job of identifying the most deserving teacher and classified employee in the District; not an easy task!

The 2017-18 Classified Employees of the Year from each site are:

Roohi Syed,  Alvarado Elementary

Marlis Grow, Eastin Elementary

Diana Castillo-Christy, Emanuele Elementary

Rachel Silva, Hillview Crest Elementary

Anthony Hurt II, Kitayama Elementary

Umlesh Mishra, Pioneer Elementary

Lenora Matthews, Searles Elementary

Danielle da Roza, Itliong-Vera Cruz Middle

Ruhina Ayar, Cesar Chavez Middle

William Meagher, James Logan High
Susan Glenn, Conley-Caraballo High

Jo Hendee, Decoto School for Independent Study

Rebecca Velez, New Haven Adult School

Tanya Leno, Educational Services Center

Michael Curry, Corporation Yard

Nicandra Diaz De Santillan, Mary Cordoza Center

Conley-Caraballo High School's Susan Glenn was announced as the 2017-18 District Classified Employee of the Year.

The 2017-18 Teachers of the Year from each site are:

Leticia Munoz-Gonzalez, Alvarado Elementary
Frank Hernandez, Eastin Elementary
Gregory Wellman, Emanuele Elementary
Anna Maria Torres, Hillview Crest Elementary
Debbie Eberly, Kitayama Elementary
Debra Ferguson, Pioneer Elementary
Stella Alamillo, Searles Elementary
Cynthia Woll, Itliong-Vera Cruz Middle
Carolyn Aguirre, Cesar Chavez Middle

Tina Bobadilla-Mastel, James Logan High
Fernando Buchner, Conley-Caraballo High
Linda Thomas, Decoto School for Independent Study
Zenaida Luna-Marquez, New Haven Adult School

Tina Bobadilla-Mastel from James Logan High School was announced as the District's Teacher of the Year for the 2017-18 school year.

A link to the complete agenda can be found here.